KEEPING AN EYE ON HURRICANE SANDY : OJOS EN EL HURICAN

"IT'S A DOG'S LIFE..."

"THAT'S WHAT YOU SAY, NOT ME," sez Mikey.


Rain! It rained all night and it's still raining this morning. When will it stop? All-day rainstorms make it hard to find something to do, but worse than that is the thunder and lightning - which reminds me of when I was living in the bamboo forest. Compared to that, this is nothing. Imagine huddling under a big green banana frond, water dripping in your eyes and ears. Suddenly there's a blinding flash of light! Followed by a rumble and roar and the ground shakes beneath your feet. All I could do was try to burrow deeper into the jungle, clamp my paws over my eyes and ears, and try to wait it out.

While drinking his coffee, here on the porch this morning, he turned on the radio to his favorite salsa station, and I heard them talking about alarmas, un huranan, otra ciclonica, fuertes lluvias, alertaron, y fuertes marejadas, vientos, and somebody named Sandy -- yes, I understand spanish, but that's a story for another day -- right now, I'm just happy to be here with a roof over my head and three square meals a day -- which in fact did amount to another bowl of dry food this morning, but what the heck, it's a living.

Hey! Is that a little bit of sun behind the clouds over there?! "Mikey, come on, let's go for a walk, before it starts raining hard again."  He's calling me from across the porch. Gotta go. No time like the present...

 

ps: note on the map how there's a line of rainshowers all along the Mississippi River valley. Interesting, no?

 

 

MIKEY

Casa Mulero
Mulero Valley
Santa Olaya, PR