I THINK THAT I SHALL NEVER SEE / A POEM AS LOVELY AS THE SEA


Today they took me to the ocean to a place they call Punta Salinas
which I understand, means Salty Point. This was my first time at the ocean.
It's nothing like the bamboo forest. It made me want to write a poem, so I wrote
four. Here they are, in English, Spanish and Dog...


[English]

#1 SAND

I walk across sand
And find myself blistering,
not feet, but all over


#2 THE CRAB

Falling to the ground,
I watch a crab settle itself
In a bed of dust.


#3 COCONUTS

Wind blows on my face.
Among the trees, I see many
Cocos and chestnuts


#4 FREEDOM

Rolling waves splash shore
blue water white caps big waves
Now Follow Sun west


[Spanish]

# 1 ARENA
Camino arena
me encuentro ampollas,
pero no todos

# 2 EL CANGREJO
Cayendo al suelo,
Cangrejo resuelve misma
lecho de polvo.

# 3 COCOS
Viento sopla.
Entre árboles, veo muchos
Cocos, castañas

# 4 LIBERTAD
Rodando orilla olas
agua azul olas blanco
Oeste siga Sol



[Dog]

#1
Woof woof woof woof woof
Woof woof woof woof woof woof woof
Woof woof woof woof woof

#2
Woof woof woof woof woof
Woof woof woof woof woof woof woof
Woof woof woof woof woof

#3
Woof woof woof woof woof
Woof woof woof woof woof woof woof
Woof woof woof woof woof

#4
Woof woof woof woof woof
Woof woof woof woof woof woof woof
Woof woof woof woof woof

 


MIKEY

Casa Mulero
Mulero Valley
Santa Olaya, PR