A MAN'S BEST FRIEND

photo caption: Sparky, Mikey (me), and her (his wife) -- [photo by him]


Next to his wife, they say a man's best friend is his dog. I wouldn't want to argue with that, but the question for today is: Who is a dog's best friend? Answer: another dog. 

I've been needing a friend, and as of today, I've got one: Sparky. Sparky lives across the road. I've seen Sparky many times when he's out taking me for a walk, but Sparky never came close enough so we could do a meet and greet. Plus Sparky's little and runs around in circles like a crazed chicken, or at least that used to be the case. 

This morning, for some reason, Sparky came through the fence and right up onto the porch where I'm normally hanging out, waiting for something to happen. The best thing, they didn't try to chase Sparky away, like they've done with some of the other dogs who tried to visit. They're the one's who named Sparky, Sparky. I heard him say something about a sparkplug, and she laughed, and after that, they were all, "Hey Sparky! How you doing Sparky! Sparky, come here and play with Mikey." That sounded good to me. Then they decided to give Sparky some of my dog treats. "What's up with that?!" I wondered, and I put a quick stop to that idea with a growl and a lunge. Sparky took off, and I ate the treats. "Bad dog Mikey!" they both said in unison. Whatever.

I figured Sparky would be back, and soon enough I was right. What dog can resist a treat? I did my best to be all friendly and inviting to Sparky. They even took me off the leash so we could chase each other around the yard until I got so hot and tired I had to drain my water bowl and lay down for a rest. I saved a few drops for Sparky. "Here you go kid," I said. Sparky lapped it up, then took off back across the road.

My bet: Sparky will be back tomorrow. Right around breakfast, if I know anything about the habits of dogs.



MIKEY

Casa Mulero
Mulero Valley
Santa Olaya, PR