A LITTLE MORE BACKGROUND : DAY TWO

"IT'S A DOG'S LIFE..."

"THAT'S WHAT YOU SAY, NOT ME," sez Mikey.

First morning, after that night I showed up, discovered they've got cats. Two, a brother and sister pair. The fluffy blonde one, he's called Venus de Milo, Milo for short - with a long "i" pronounced the spanish way. The scrawnier dirty grey one, they call her Herman Melville. Herman for short, accent on the second syllable, and the "e", it sounds like long "a", and don't forget to roll your "r" in the middle. 

Cats? No problem. Right off I chased them into the jungle. Let them live off lizzards for a while. Besides, there didn't seem to be any dog food when I arrived. She fed me her left-over dinner, right off the plate. "Hey! What are you doing?" he shouted at her. "Who knows where that dog's been?"

Well, I know, and I'm not talking. Bamboo forest - that's enough to know for now.

The cats came back, but it took a few days. Meanwhile all I had to do was make a quick lunge, and wham, back to the jungle. Of course they tied me up. Right away in fact. Right after I chased the cats into the jungle the first time. Some kind of long electrical cord they used. Then, hey, next day they bought me a fancy collar, a leash and some long cables with clips on the end. Whatever. I can still jump and lunge, and you should see those cats go racing off into the jungle. 

"Watch out for lizzards and snakes!" I tell them. Oh yeah, tarantulas too. They taste like chicken - only the fur tickles.

 


MIKEY
Casa Mulero
Mulero Valley
Santa Olaya, PR